These Violent Delights

Author(s): Chloe Gong

NZ Young Adult Fiction

Perfect for fans of The Last Magician and Descendant of the Crane, this heart-stopping debut is an imaginative Romeo and Juliet retelling set in 1920s Shanghai, with rival gangs and a monster in the depths of the Huangpu River.


The year is 1926, and Shanghai hums to the tune of debauchery. A blood feud between two gangs runs the streets red, leaving the city helpless in the grip of chaos. At the heart of it all is eighteen-year-old Juliette Cai, a former flapper who has returned to assume her role as the proud heir of the Scarlet Gang-a network of criminals far above the law. Their only rivals in power are the White Flowers, who have fought the Scarlets for generations. And behind every move is their heir, Roma Montagov, Juliette's first love...and first betrayal.


But when gangsters on both sides show signs of instability culminating in clawing their own throats out, the people start to whisper. Of a contagion, a madness. Of a monster in the shadows.


As the deaths stack up, Juliette and Roma must set their guns-and grudges-aside and work together, for if they can't stop this mayhem, then there will be no city left for either to rule.


"Heady, smart, and vicious, These Violent Delights strikes every note with precision, layering romance and politics into a roaring 20s Shanghai of both monsters and monstrous imperialism" - Tessa Gratton, author of The Queens of Innis Lear.

Sasha's Review:


1920s Shanghai is dripping with glamour, culture, change and violence - but above all else, money. Everybody is out for the biggest piece. In this mad scramble two feuding households have risen to the top: the Cai family of The Scarlet Gang and the (formerly) Russian Montagovs who control The White Flowers. Eighteen-year-old Scarlet heiress Juliette Cai has returned after a four-year exile in America and will tolerate no-one standing in her way of ascending the family throne — neither jealous cousin Tyler, nor cold and secretive Rosalind and certainly not her ex-lover and the cause of her disgrace, Roma Montagov.


While old alliances and betrayals simmer in the city, something else glides through the Huangpu river, its monstrous eyes reflected in the lamplight and terrifying fishermen and flappers alike. But no-one will listen to their tales — until the night a man tears his own throat out in a crowded nightclub and Juliette
learns that her only hope may lie in the hands of her greatest enemies.


Auckland author Chloe Gong is just 21 and her lush debut, the first of a trilogy, is already a New York Times bestseller. A revamp of Shakespeare‘s classic Romeo and Juliet, it also focuses on the brutal effects of western imperialism on Chinese society. Fans of Libba Bray‘s The Diviners will devour it.

$25.00(NZD)

Available Stock:
0
On Order:
2

Order this Item


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

Chloe Gong is a student at the University of Pennsylvania, studying English and international relations. During her breaks, she's either at home in New Zealand or visiting her many relatives in Shanghai. Chloe has been known to mysteriously appear when 'Romeo and Juliet is one of Shakespeare's best plays and doesn't deserve its slander in pop culture' is chanted into a mirror three times. You can find her on Twitter @TheChloeGong or check out her website at TheChloeGong.com.

General Fields

  • : 9781529344554
  • : Hodder & Stoughton
  • : Hodder & Stoughton Ltd
  • : 0.3
  • : September 2020
  • : 23.40 cmmm X 15.30 cmmm
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Chloe Gong
  • : Paperback
  • : en
  • : 813.6
  • : 478