Heartstopper Volume One

Author(s): Alice Oseman

General Graphic Books | Young Adult Fiction | LGBTQI+

Boy meets boy. Boys become friends. Boys fall in love. An LGBTQ+ graphic novel about life, love, and everything that happens in between - for fans of The Art of Being Normal, Holly Bourne and Love, Simon. Charlie and Nick are at the same school, but they've never met ... until one day when they're made to sit together. They quickly become friends, and soon Charlie is falling hard for Nick, even though he doesn't think he has a chance. But love works in surprising ways, and Nick is more interested in Charlie than either of them realised. Heartstopper is about love, friendship, loyalty and mental illness. It encompasses all the small stories of Nick and Charlie's lives that together make up something larger, which speaks to all of us. This is the first volume of Heartstopper, with more to come.

Lucy Black's Review:


Charlie, a highly-strung, openly gay over-thinker, and Nick, a cheerful, soft-hearted rugby player, meet at a British all-boys grammar school. Friendship blooms quickly, but could there be something moreā€¦?

Young novelist Alice Oseman has taken two supporting characters from her novel Solitaire and written her own fanfic love story about how they met. The main character of Solitaire is Tori, but Oseman loved Tori's little brother Charlie so much that she began a webcomic about him and his crush on fellow boys' school student Nick. The Heartstopper graphic novels are sweet, swoony observations from the depths of a teen love affair. They cover coming out, bullying, questioning one's sexuality and friendship group dynamics. There is angst and drama but also lots of cute pages of lingering looks and blushing school boy cheeks. Although clearly about the love between two boys, and popular at boys' schools, there is also a definite appetite amongst teen girls for gay boys' romance stories and the Heartstopper graphic novels have been flying off the shelves.

The characters in these books start off at 14 and 16 and this is probably the best audience for reading - there's kissing, and teen issues abound, but nothing too adult themed. If you know someone who secretly wrote Draco and Harry fanfic or enjoys Rainbow Rowell and other queer lit, I strongly recommend these thoughtful volumes.

$25.00(NZD)

Available Stock:
1
On Order:
1

Add to Cart

Click & Collect


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

General Fields

  • : 9781444951387
  • : Hachette Children's Group
  • : Hodder Children's Books
  • : 0.3
  • : September 2018
  • : ---length:- '23.4'width:- '15.3'units:- Centimeters
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Alice Oseman
  • : Paperback
  • : 1
  • : English
  • : 741.5
  • : 288